AUFF Starting Grants


Through the Starting Grants, the AUFF aims to strengthen the growth layer, thus providing good career opportunities for outstanding researchers at Aarhus University. Through the grant, the foundation aims to strengthen particularly promising research at a high international level conducted at the four main academic areas.

The 2018 AUFF Starting Grants will be targeted at recruitment within growth areas with a view to establishing new independent research areas and research groups.

The scheduled application rounds in May and October are targeted at growth areas at Aarhus University, where newly appointed assistant and associate professors may apply for Starting Grants, as long as their employment commenced on or after 1 September 2017.

However, the foundation also welcomes ongoing applications for AUFF Starting Grants in connection with appointment/recruitment processes. Applications are submitted by the head of department upon recommendation from the dean.

Applications are prioritised by deans and heads of department before the grants are distributed.

In 2018 DKK 47.5 million have been allocated for AUFF Starting Grants.


There are two deadlines for application in 2018:


·          Tuesday 1 May 2018 at 12:00


·          Monday 1 October 2018 at 12:00


Applications must be completed online at See ‘AUFF Starting Grants, Guide for Applicants 2018’.


Ongoing applications in connection with recruitment processes:

AUFF receives ongoing applications for Starting Grants outside the scheduled application rounds only in connection with pressing recruitment processes, where a Starting Grant is crucial to attracting a highly attractive candidate, who also holds other job offers.

Heads of department are asked to forward the application with appendices (see ‘AUFF Starting Grants, Guide for Applicants 2018’ for details) as one PDF file via email to: Tove Østergaard Le, Talent Development, AU Research Support and External Relations, email:

Please direct any questions regarding AUFF Starting Grants to:

Tove Østergaard Le
Talent Development, AU Research Support and External Relations, Aarhus University

Mobile: 2162 4921


Review committee

  • Professor Karl Anker Jørgensen, AU Science and Technology
  • Professor Klaus Mølmer, AU Science and Technology
  • Professor Helle Vandkilde, AU Arts
  • Professor Jens Otto Lunde Jørgensen, AU Health
  • Professor Jens Blom-Hansen, AU Business and Social Sciences