AUFF Flagships


AUFF Flagships is an initiative to support major research projects of extraordinary grade, high visibility and with considerable international impact on Aarhus University. In order to be considered for an AUFF Flagship, the project must have a strong scientific breakthrough and innovative strength, as well as being able to effectively raise awareness of Aarhus University, both nationally and internationally. AUFF Flagships must create synergy between research at the highest level and creatively underline general purpose, which can profile AUFF and Aarhus University in the general public. In a competition between several flagship candidates, academic quality and the potential for a broad engagement will play a crucial role in the final prioritisation.

Partnership with other foundations
AUFF Flagships require a partnership with one or more national or international players, and it is expected that there at the deadline for applications is an undertaking to provide funding for the project from one or more foundations, or a plan for how to achieve other forms of funding corresponding to the amount applied for by AUFF. AUFF Flagships are awarded every two years, and applications for up to DKK 15 million may be applied for. The application must be written in English, as international experts will be involved in the external peer review process.

Application procedure
Each dean can nominate one application for a flagship project. The applications received will be considered by the AUFF review committee and then submitted for an external assessment. Finally, with due consideration for the external and internal assessments, the review committee selects a project that is recommended for grant of the Board of AUFF. The final grant from AUFF may not be issued until other funding has been obtained of at least the same amount as the AUFF intends to grant.

Applications from deans must be received no later than 5 May 2021 at 12.00 p.m.
The chair professor Karl Anker Jørgensen, 2680 4960 or can be contacted with general questions about AUFF flagships. If you have any questions regarding the application procedure, requirements, frameworks and schedule, please contact Tove Østergaard Le, Talent Development Unit, 2162 4921 or

Read guidelines for the application. 

The application (in a unified PDF file) is sent to Tove Østergaard Le, Talent Development Unit by email:  

Review committee
• Professor Karl Anker Jørgensen, AU Natural Sciences
• Professor Lotte Bach Larsen, AU Technical Sciences
• Professor Helle Vandkilde, AU Arts
• Professor Helle Prætorius Ørhwald, AU Health
• Professor Jens Blom-Hansen, AU Business and Social Sciences