The aim of AUFF NOVA is to stimulate courageous and innovative research projects of high quality – projects, which may have difficulties obtaining alternative funding. The project must be pioneering in its field and show clear potential for scientific breakthroughs. The hypothesis or problem behind the project may require development of new methods and it may challenge existing paradigms.

In the evaluation of applications, the scientific potential and originality of the project will be weighted higher than the applicant's CV.


In 2024, the frame for AUFF NOVA is DKK 48,000,000 in total and this includes overhead. Starting in 2024 all grants will receive a fixed rate of 20% in overhead on top of the actual project costs.

In 2024 AUFF NOVA includes two types of grants. Priority is given to small projects.

  1. Small projects (up to DKK 600,000), duration 1-2 years
  2. Large projects (up to DKK 2,500,000), duration 3-4 years

Application deadline is Friday 10 September, 2024 at 12.00 noon

AUFF NOVA is available for all researchers with a permanent position at AU. Tenure track assistant professors are considered permanent staff in this regard. Research leaders in fixed, part-time employment at AU, with concurrent clinical employment at AUH, can also apply.

As the foundation wishes the funds from the foundation to benefit as many different researchers as possible, a 1-year waiting period for applicants applies. This means that if the application was rejected in 2023, the applicant cannot apply this year. Also, if the application is rejected this year the applicant is not eligible to apply next year. Furthermore, grant holders cannot apply during the period in which they already hold a NOVA grant from the foundation.

Buy-out/’frikøb’ is not granted in this scheme.

Applications that do not comply with the form requirements will be administratively rejected. Read more about specific frameworks and form requirements in the application guide for AUFF NOVA.

Applications must be completed electronically via

A webinar with Q&A about the scheme will be held on 20. August at 13.00 – 14.00.

The application form is available one month before the deadline. Questions about AUFF NOVA can be directed to:

Tove Østergaard Le

AU PhD and funds service, Aarhus University


Telephone: 2162 4921

Selection Committee

Professor Helle Prætorius Øhrwald, Faculty of Health

Professor Michael Møller Hansen, Faculty of Natural Sciences

Professor Dorthe Staunæs, Faculty of Arts

Professor Jens Blom-Hansen, School of Business and Social Sciences

Professor Lotte Bach Larsen, Faculty of Technical Sciences